Dec 08, 2016
The Capital Region Board heard today that it will be reduced by 11 members to 13, and have some form of regional service delivery and regional economic development added to its mandate next year.

Proposed membership would include the four counties surrounding the city of Edmonton, (Leduc, Parkland, Strathcona and Sturgeon Counties) and the eight cities and towns within those borders, with populations of more than 5,000 (Beaumont, Devon, Fort Saskatchewan, Leduc, Morinville, Spruce Grove, St. Albert and Stony Plain).

The Hon. Danielle Larivee, Minister of Municipal Affairs, also told the Board at its December meeting that because of its success, the CRB remains the template for growth management boards, particularly in the Calgary Region, as the province renews the Municipal Government Act, expected to take effect in mid 2017.

"With continuing growth and limited resources, and the significant opportunities for regions to collaborate to compete, growth management boards are too important to leave to partnerships," she said.

The Minister noted that new Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework agreements between adjacent municipalities are also proposed, ensuring that the smaller 11 municipalities represented on the current CRB would continue to be aligned with and part of the regional planning.

The Minister concluded by saying she is open to the comments and suggestions of the members before finalizing the revised CRB regulation. 

A discussion guide on the proposed changes has been distributed, with feedback requested by January 31, 2017

Minister's remarks here