Dec 15, 2017
The Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board (EMRB) has named Stony Plain Mayor William Choy as Vice Chair, and made Standing Committee appointments in preparation for Strategic Planning in the new year.

At its first business meeting December 14, 2018, the Board received an overview of the new Regional Growth Plan, which will provide the impetus of much of this Board's activity, and an orientation to its follow-up development project - a Regional Agriculture Master Plan and Land Evaluation Assessment tool.

"We're off to a great start," said Board Chair Dr. Jodi L Abbott at a Board Get Acquainted luncheon following the meeting. "We are getting comfortable with each other, and that bodes well for our future communications and, as we've seen with our predecessors, for regional collaboration."
Appointed to the Executive Committee along with Dr. Abbott as Chair and Malcolm Bruce, EMRB CEO as non-voting members were:
  • Chair of the Audit & Finance Committee* 
  • Mayor Don Iveson, City of Edmonton
  • Mayor Rod Shaigec, Parkland County
  • Mayor Barry Turner, Town of Morinville
  • Mayor Bob Young, City of Leduc
Appointed on behalf of their municipalities to the Audit & Finance Committee, along with non-voting EMRB Board Chair and EMRB CEO, were:
  • Mayor Tanni Doblanko, Leduc County
  • Mayor Ray Ralph, Town of Devon
  • Mayor John Stewart, Town of Beaumont
  • Councillor Wes Brodhead, City of St. Albert
  • Councillor Michael Walters, City of Edmonton
Both Committees hold their first meetings January 11, 2018.

*The Chair of the Audit & Finance Committee will be selected at its first meeting and recommended for Board approval Feb 8, 2018 

For further information, contact:
Loreen Lennon
Media Liaison
Phone:   (587) 982-4998
Or visit