May 28, 2018
(EDMONTON 2018-05-28) - Speaking together as a region significantly impacted by the energy industry, member Mayors of Edmonton Metropolitan Region reiterated their collective municipal support for the Kinder Morgan pipeline expansion (TMX) project, and urged the other orders of government to come to agreement by the project's May 31 deadline.
                NOTE:    Media availability
                                2:30 p.m. today (Monday, May 28)
                                Edmonton City Hall, 2nd floor (Mayor's Office reception area)

Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board (EMRB) Board member Stuart Houston, Mayor of Spruce Grove, said that the region's mayors feel a special responsibility to speak as they head to this weekend's annual convention of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) in Halifax.

"As elected officials in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region, we have a responsibility to our citizens and communities to provide opportunities to thrive and grow. There is no doubt the Kinder Morgan project will have a tremendous positive impact on the region and on behalf of all my colleagues, we express our wholehearted support of the project. With the deadline for a decision fast approaching we urge the federal and provincial governments to come to an agreement to get this project started."

EMRB Chair Dr. Jodi L Abbott notes that the Board has registered strong support for TMX in a letter to the Prime Minister in December 2017, and has published an Energy Corridors Master Plan for the region, which includes Alberta's Industrial Heartland, Canada's largest hydrocarbon processing centre.

"We represent 1.3M Albertans in one of Canada's greatest regional concentrations of critical pipeline infrastructure. Alberta accounts for nearly 20% of Canada's GDP, with our region responsible for 30% of that total; the future prosperity of Canada lies in the approval of the Trans Mountain Expansion Project, now."

Malcolm Bruce, outgoing CEO of EMRB and incoming CEO of Edmonton Global, echoes Houston's and Abbott's statements and highlighted the importance of the project for international investment in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region.

"The world needs to know that we are open for business. We have tremendous opportunities for international investors in the Edmonton Metro Region and the promise that our resources have reliable, safe and efficient access to global markets is crucial to attracting that investment. The Kinder Morgan project would open new doors for the Edmonton Metro Region and I firmly stand behind our regional officials in their show of continued support."
The joint call of support by Mayor Houston and his regional colleagues comes a day before elected officials from across the country begin to gather for the Federation of Canadian Municipalities annual conference in Halifax.
About the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board
The EMRB is the 13-member growth management board of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region, mandated to coordinate responsible long-range growth planning via the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Growth Plan, and to develop a Metropolitan Servicing Plan for the Region. The Board provides leadership, representing and collaborating in the best interests of the Region, and setting the conditions, strategic priorities and vision for future prosperity.
Board members come from the municipalities of the Region with populations of 5000 or more: Five cities: Edmonton, Fort Saskatchewan Leduc, Spruce Grove, St. Albert; four towns: Beaumont, Devon, Morinville, Stony Plain, and four counties: Leduc County, Parkland County, Strathcona County, Sturgeon County.

Media Contact:
Loreen Lennon
EMRB Communications Manager
Talk/text 587-982-4998