Oct 28, 2017
Eight new Mayors in the Edmonton Metro Region will take their places at the new 13-member regional growth management board table next month.
New Mayors in Beaumont, Devon, Leduc, Leduc County, Morinville, St. Albert, Strathcona County, and Sturgeon County will join incumbents returning from Edmonton, Fort Saskatchewan, Parkland County, Spruce Grove, and Stony Plain.

Following provincial proclamation of its new regulation October 26, 2017, the former Capital Region Board (CRB) will become the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board (EMRB), with representation from the 13 municipalities with populations of 5,000 or more. That's 11 fewer members than had places at the CRB table, but EMRB members still account for more than 97% of the regional residents.

The new Board will meet for an Orientation meeting November 9, 2017. Its Organizational meeting will take place December 14, 2017. A new non-elected Board Chair will be announced October 31, 2017.
Sitting at the new EMRB will be:
  • *Mayor William Choy, Stony Plain
  • Mayor Tanni Doblanko, Leduc County (formerly County Councillor)
  • Mayor Rod Frank, Strathcona County
  • Mayor Cathy Heron, St. Albert (formerly City Councillor)
  • *Mayor Stuart Houston, Spruce Grove
  • Mayor Alanna Hnatiw, Sturgeon County
  • *Mayor Don Iveson, Edmonton
  • *Mayor Gale Katchur, Fort Saskatchewan
  • Mayor Ray Ralph, Devon
  • *Mayor Rod Shaigec, Parkland County
  • Mayor John Stewart, Beaumont
  • Mayor Barry Turner, Morinville
  • Mayor Bob Young, Leduc
* incumbent

Regional growth boards are mandated to create long-term growth plans and metro servicing plans for their regions. 

The new EMRB will oversee implementation of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Growth Plan and create a Metro Servicing Plan.