Apr 26, 2018
As per the new EMRB Regulation and mandate to prepare a Metropolitan Region Servicing Plan, the Board has struck a Task Force to define the plan's parameters and work to be done.

At today's first meeting, Task Force members elected Devon Mayor Ray Ralph as Chair and Strathcona County Councillor Dave Anderson as Vice Chair, and reaffirmed the Task Force Terms of Reference approved by the Board.

In discussions about the scope of the Project Plan, the Task Force approved the next phase of the project, an Environmental Scan and associated workplan, that will set the foundation for the rest of the project. Following the Scan, a facilitated Task Force workshop will be held in September to establish the scope of the plan to before proceeding to the next phases of the project.

As information, the Task Force also received a presentation by students from the University of Alberta Planning Program on Regional Emergency (Fire) Services, representing its final report on a project done in partnership with the EMRB. See the full report here.

EMRB Project lead is Neal Sarnecki. The Task Force will also be supported by an Advisory Group comprised of senior staff from the region’s municipalities, and specific technical working groups for each of the Service Areas.

The next meeting will be called for September.

Task Force Membership:
  • Mayor Ray Ralph, Devon, Chair
  • Councillor Dave Anderson, Strathcona County, Vice Chair
  • Mayor William Choy, Stony Plain
  • Mayor Tanni Doblanko, Leduc County
  • Mayor Don Iveson, Edmonton
  • Mayor Gale Katchur, Fort Saskatchewan
  • Councillor Ray Watkins, St. Albert

 MRSP Advisory Working Group Membership:
  • Grant Bain, Leduc County
  • Barry Belcourt, Edmonton
  • Paresh Dhariya, Devon
  • Kevin Glebe, Strathcona County
  • Tom Goulden, Stony Plain
  • Gerg Hofmann, Morinville
  • Corey Levasseur, Spruce Grove
  • Rob McGowan, Parkland County
  • Eleanor Mohammed, Beaumont
  • Shawn Olson, Leduc
  • Janel Smith, Fort Saskatchewan
  • Collin Steffes, Sturgeon County


See all up to date information about the Task Force on the MRSP page of the EMRB website