Jan 27, 2018
Regional 101 Booklet:  Covers / Content

In a casual theatre-style presentation at Festival Place January 19, 2018, regional municipal Councils were introduced to the changes and new basics of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region following some significant decisions last fall.
Deputy Premier Sarah Hoffman brought greetings from the Province and host Mayor Rod Frank of Strathcona County welcomed about 100 participants to the event.

Along with changes to local Councils following the municipal elections, there were also decisions by the provincial government that defined the Edmonton Metropolitan Region itself, reduced the membership of its regional growth board and gave approval to a 30-year plan for responsible growth as the region doubles in population to 2.2 million people and 1.2 million jobs.

The EMRB Board Chair Dr. Jodi L. Abbott and CEO Malcolm Bruce provided some background on changes that saw the successful 24-member Capital Region Board transition after 10 years to the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Board, now with representation from 13 member municipalities with populations of 5000 or more.
  • The EMRB's mandate has expanded to include creation of a Metropolitan Regional Servicing Plan in addition to regional growth management. 
  • With the recent approval of the Edmonton Metropolitan Region Growth Plan, attention now turns to its implementation, which immediately includes development of a Regional Agriculture Master Plan. 
  • With the smaller Board, the governance structure has been streamlined; however the double majority need for decision-making remains intact.
To highlight the complexity of creating the new Growth Plan, the three remaining members of the Growth Plan Task Force participated in a panel discussion to review that 30 month process.

Mayors Don Iveson (Edmonton), Cathy Heron (St. Albert) and Gale Katchur (Fort Saskatchewan) recalled the opportunities and challenges they faced, agreeing that the Plan's made-for-the-region approach was a product of increasing collaboration amongst Board members over time. The result: an award winning document, now poised to guide growth for this Region over the next 30-50 years. 

MLAs Estefania Cortes-Vargas (Strathcona-Sherwood Park), Jessica Littlewood (Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville) and Rod Loyola (Edmonton Ellerslie) were on hand for the day. Municipal Affairs Minister Shaye Anderson took part in the after-event Networking Mixer.

For more information or to order Regional 101 booklets, contact Loreen Lennon, Communcations Manager